April 7th (NapoWrimo)

I totally forgot to post this poem yesterday. Whoops.

Anyways, I had a 6 hour power outage yesterday evening/night so I decided to write about it.

 

Power Outage

 

I look up and see my surroundings shrouded in darkness

The only brightness comes from the city,

Which, at this moment, feels too far to reach

Twinkling lights in office buildings and street lamps,

I stare outside as candles emit a faint glow around the room.

It slowly gets brighter outside

And darker in here

 

Leave a Reply

