Fitting Rooms

Man, I really dislike fitting rooms.

There are many reasons as to why I think this way, and you might also feel the same way.

So let us begin this list of peeves shall we?

  1. Why do you need my name???: I swear, 1/3 stores I enter has some overly cheery person dressed in all the latest gear ask me for my name. I’m just here to try on a bunch of clothes that I probably won’t buy anyways. I don’t want to awkwardly tell you my name after 3 seconds of stammering the first letter like “E-e-e-eva” and then not look at your face because I know for sure you’ll look hella amused. For most people, this might not be a big problem, but I have a slight speech impediment, so I’d like to do this as little as possible

  2. They tiny tho: I will never be a total jackass and take the handicapped fitting room(s) just for their comfortable size. However, would it kill clothing chains to add a few square feet to their supply closet sized fitting rooms? I don’t want to have to watch for any sharp bench edges or a misplaced hook jabbing me in the back/legs/stomach when I twirl in that cute dress.

  3. Stop asking me stuff: A fitting room is uncomfortable enough for me without you hovering by and asking me if I’m okay every couple minutes. If I want a different size or a different colour, I will probably ask for help (unless a friend is nearby, and in that case they’ll be my clothes swapper) and thank you for walking to the other end of the store to retrieve it for me. But if I’m not, then it’s probably safe to assume that I’m doing okay.

-EVA

Leave a Reply

