BEDA Day 25 – A High School Friend

Two days ago, I hung out with my best friend from high school. I thought we had a a lot to talk about, but turns out, I had way more to say than she did. I filled her in on what’s been going on with me for the past year, and she didn’t talk much. I was a little disappointed, as I expected her to talk about the new friends she’s made or how her classes were going or even if she’s met (a) cute boy(s). Sadly, she only filled me in on those topics after I asked her about them. I also don’t know if she’s changed a lot, or if I’ve changed a lot, but spending time with her wasn’t as fun and great as it was back in high school.

I don’t know, maybe people change, and maybe a friend who I thought was really awesome change, and I’m not compatible with them anymore. Maybe you’ve just got to make the best of the good times you have with someone, because they’ll come back a slightly different person. Maybe you’ll realize that the fun times you had with that person were all that was given to you. You’ll then realize why you didn’t cherish those times more. When you’ve got something great going on, hold on to that, you don’t know when it’s gonna stop, or how long it’s gonna last. That person might drift away and you’ll desperately want them to come back. Sometimes they will, and sometimes they won’t.

-EVA

Leave a Reply

