BEDA Day 1 – Degrassi

Degrassi: The Next Generation (Season 1 – Season 14 ) has just ended.  It feels like a part of my adolescence has ended. Degrassi was the only show I continued watching and loving as I grew from an awkward naïve preteen to a slightly more awkward and less naïve teen to the mature (lol yeah right) young adult I am now.

I started watching Degrassi in Season 8, when Clare was just a gifted spectacle sporting private school girl uniform wearing niner. To the end of season 14, and Clare has graduated and is taking a gap year to figure out what possibilities lie ahead of her.

The show taught me about boys, friendships, how relationships work, drunk driving and the consequences, suicide and how it affects others, mental and personality disorders, LGBTQ issues, teen pregnancy, and more. It taught me things growing up that I should have learned from my parents, but didn’t.

I cried buckets when season 14 ended, because all the core characters from the last 6 seasons of Degrassi have left. The actors/actresses portraying them will be off to pursue other things.

It saddens me that I won’t be able to see how Eli and Clare evolves as a couple, what Dallas and Drew get up to, the friendship of Becky and Imogen, and etc.

It’s been a long run for Degrassi: The Next Generation, and even though I’m saddened to see it end, Degrassi will still start a new chapter and I am excited for that.

-EVA

Leave a Reply

