5 Seconds of Summer important to pop punk?

Let’s just get it out there: I am not a fan of One Direction, I don’t like their music at all. However, I do really like 5 Seconds of Summer (not a fangirl though) because they give off this vibe that I really like. They may not be the best lyricists, but they do make good melodies and are considered pop punk.

I am the BIGGEST FAN of pop punk there is out there. I was listening to it in grade seven, though I didn’t know what it was called. When I was fifteen, I really got into pop punk. I started listening to and loving bands such as We Are the In Crowd, All Time Low, Mayday Parade, Good Charlotte, Panic! At the Disco, Paramore, Tonight Alive, etc…

So when Alternative Press said that 5sos could be one the best things that has happened to pop punk so far, I agreed. Because of them, bands like ATL, WATIC and others are appealing to a bigger audience (I hate that the audience does consist of some tween girls, but I’ll just have to deal with it). People realize that pop punk are not just for “emo wannabe hipsters”. If it does become more mainstream, then that is the best news ever because teenagers can be exposed to good music, and not just the “shitty no meaning pop songs that are played on the hot radio stations 24/7”. Teenagers can get exposed to more electric guitar music, less electronically made and produced music; more drum lines, less made from a hip-hop drum machine; and more bass (Meghan Trainer doesn’t count), which doesn’t seem to appear very often in pop music.

(5sos also can play instruments and Michael has no problem nailing a guitar solo live. Not many famous “teen boys” play instruments on stage.)

So in my opinion, 5 Seconds of Summer is definitely one of the best things that has happened to Pop punk recently.

-EVA

Leave a Reply

