Why I care so much about the sexual abuse cases on YouTube

If you saw my video I made on Monday, you will notice a huge jumpcut. I know it’s terrible, but I said things when I was filming it that I don’t feel comfortable sharing with the world.

I don’t know why, but after Eva told me about the whole Sam Pepper prank and the backlash, I searched it up, and by that time, the videos were taken down, so all I could do was watch bits and pieces of it and watch other people’s reactions to the videos. I found the accusations that other girls were making about him. I empathized with the girls victimized.

I feel that way because of my past. I’ve been victimized by things that I don’t wish upon anyone, and I was blamed. I never knew why. I didn’t want to, I just wanted to be friends. They thought I was making excuses. I wasn’t. Even my parents were skeptical whether or not I was telling the truth. I felt truly misunderstood. And to this day, this effected me in some shape or form. I don’t make fast friends with people. I have trust issues. I also don’t know what love feels like.

I stand by my beliefs, whatever they are. I stand by the belief that no person should be left alone, misunderstood and looked down upon. Although I don’t always feel this way, I think that if you believe in yourself, you can do anything, be it looking at the mirror and saying, I’m happy with the way I look, or going out and be the next Mark Zuckerberg or Steve Jobs.

Maybe this is why I’m studying psychology.

-KAREN

Leave a Reply

