Musical Selfishness

You know the feeling when you discover a band that isn’t well known, and hope that they’ll stay that way forever?

That’s me. i know it’s incredibly selfish of me to hope that they never become popular and that their faces never appear on MTV and that they stay an “indie band” forever. But to me, if more people discover the band, then I don’t feel special anymore.

I know it’s stupid of me to think that they’d never grow as an artist/band. That they would never be discovered by others, that they would never start playing bigger venues and attracting more people. Many of the most famous bands ever started out as an indie band that hardly anyone knew.

But I like that when I talk about a band with my friends, or with other people, their response is “huh? what band are you talking about? I’ve never heard of them”. Then it gives me the opportunity to tell them everything I know about the band and what I think about their music.

-EVA

Leave a Reply

