Dresses.

When I was little, my mom dressed me
up in pretty dresses, whether it be floral or patterned or colourful. She put Mary Janes on my feet and braided my hair.

As I got older, around 10 years old, she stopped dressing me how she wanted to, for the most part, and let me go shopping with her to pick out my own clothes. That was when I started dressing a bit boyish. Neither of us really cared, because I still was feminine enough.

At 13, when I started high school, she left me to my own devices. She didn’t force me to buy dresses or pretty skirts or dressy shoes. So from then on, I basically lived in dark skinny jeans, T-shirts, hoodies and converse/vans.

Now, I’m 18 and have just started university. I still dress like a tomboy and I’m totally okay with that, but my mom’s not. She believes that “now that I’m older”, I should start dressing like a girl again. I should start wearing the skirts and dresses at the back of my closet and ditch the skinny jeans that I wear on a regular basis. I should stop styling my hair in an “emo” side part and part it in the middle. Because her logic is “you’re older, you’re considered an adult, you should start dressing like one. Stop being too lazy to make yourself look decent and pretty and wear something other than Vans”

But the thing is, why do I need to change myself just because I’m older? I’m still only 18 and a freshman in university. Most of the people at school dress the same way I do or worse. Boys are not shallow enough to only like you if you dress well. They care about your personality too. Wearing a dress will not make “all the boys come to your yard” and a pair of fancy shoes will not do the job either.

You do not need to look a certain way for society to accept you as a woman. There is no rule saying that a dress equals elegant lady while skinny jeans equals downtown east side.

-EVA

Leave a Reply

